About Bruce Area Solid Waste Recycling

Bruce Area Solid Waste Recycling is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving the environment of our customers. The partnership was established by, and remains possible through the co-operative spirit of its member municipalities.

In 1989, the Towns of Port Elgin and Southampton, along with the Township of Saugeen formed a committee to look at the feasibility of recycling. By 1990, Bruce Area Recycling became a reality and welcomed the Towns of Kincardine, Walkerton and Wiarton, plus the Villages of Hepworth and Lucknow to its membership.

The present recycling plant was completed in November 1990 and the first two special collection trucks were on the road. Blue Box recycling was a reality in Bruce County.

Bruce Area Recycling has grown considerably since 1990 and currently, we are proud to service 87% of Bruce County.

Bruce Area Recycling is proud of our past and present accomplishments. We thank you, our customers, for making us a success.